The flag of the Australian region of the Northern Territory consists of a white Southern Cross on a black background on the left and a black and white Sturt’s Desert Rose on an orange background on the right. The Northern Territory is a Australian region in mainland Australia not currently classified as a state. The colors of black, white, and orange are used because they are the official colors of the territory. The seven points on stars of the Southern Cross and the seven petals of the Desert Rose represent the seven regions of mainland Australia, the six states and the Northern Territory. This flag was adopted on July 1st, 1978.